IDB Prize for Women's Contribution to Development 13th Edition (1439H – 2018)

The Islamic Development Bank established the IDB Prize for Women's Contribution to Development in 2006 to draw international attention to the vital role women play in developing their communities and the world.

The Prize aims to RECOGNIZE, ENCOURAGE, INSPIRE and REWARD women's participation in the socio-economic development process.
It aims to:
a. Recognize

b. Encourage

c. Inspire

d. Reward

Theme and Topics
In order to highlight various issues shaping our world and their specific effects on women, the theme of the Prize varies each year and is further specified into topics for the individual and organization categories.


The Prize consists of two cash awards;
a) U.S. $ 50,000 for a woman or a group of women
b) U.S. $ 100,000 for an organization
The Prize is awarded during the Annual Meeting of the IDB Board of Governors.

The general criteria applied in selecting and assessing nominations for the Prize for both individuals and organizations include the following:

Individuals and organizations nominated should exhibit projects that have contributed to the improvement of the socio-economic status and well being of society.

Individuals and organizations nominated should have projects/activities that are outstanding, innovative and unique

Individuals and organizations nominated should have mechanisms for expanding their projects/activities to surrounding areas to ensure their services are offered to as many beneficiaries as possible.

Individuals and organizations nominated should have projects/activities that are sustainable

Prize Process
The Prize is administered by the IDB through the Capacity Development Department in consultation with the IDB Women's Advisory Panel and in collaboration with its academic advisor, Effat University.  The processing of the Prize involves the following steps:

Selection Committee
The Selection Committee is composed of five distinguished women. Members are annually chosen and selected based on their extensive experience in the field of the related theme and topics.  The committee is comprised of members from the IDB Women's Advisory Panel and subject specialist.

Since its inception in 1427H (2006 ), the Prize has been awarded to 36 winners ( individuals and organizations) . Please click on the links below for information on previous laureates.

Prize Winners of Eleventh Edition (1438H-2017G)
Prize Winners of Eleventh Edition (1437H-2016G)
Prize Winners of Tenth Edition (1436H-2015G)
Prize Winners of Ninth Edition (1435H - 2014G)
Prize Winners of Eighth Edition (1434H - 2013G)
Prize Winners of Seventh Edition (1433H - 2012G)
Prize Winners of Sixth Edition (1432H - 2011G)
Prize Winners of Fifth Edition (1431H - 2010G)
Prize Winners of  Fourth Edition (1430H - 2009G)
Prize Winners of Third Edition (1429H - 2008G)
Prize Winners of Second Edition (1428H - 2007G)
Prize Winners of First Edition (1427H - 2006G)

Deadline for Nominations: 30 November, 2017
To Nominate or Request Information, Please Contact;

Capacity Development Department
Islamic Development Bank
P.O. Box 5925 Jeddah 21432
Saudi Arabia
Tel: +966 12 646-6351/6319
Fax: +966 12 646-7828

Or alternately care of one of the following IDB Regional/Gateway Offices:
IDB Regional Office in Rabat
IDB Regional Office in Kuala Lumpur
IDB Regional Office in Almaty
IDB Regional Office in Dakar, Senegal
IDB Group Gateway Office, Turkey
IDB Group Gateway Office, Indonesia

Announcement of the Prize Winners
Prize Winners will also be announced through the following channels:

Prizes will be awarded during the 43rd Board of IDB Governors Meeting scheduled to take place in Tunis, Tunisia in April 1439H ( 2018G)