الأوقاف

 معلومات أساسية عن الأوقاف

الأوقاف أصول تخصص بطريق التبرع أو الوصية أو تُشترى لتُمسك على سبيل الأمانة الدائمة لأغراض خيرية عامة أو خاصة مفيدة للمجتمع. ويشبه مفهوم الوقف من نواح كثيرة مفهوم الهبة المعروف في الغرب. وقد أدى التركيز القوي على إدامة الأوقاف إلى تراكم كبير للثروة المجتمعية على مر السنين، حتى أصبحت الأوقاف تمثل قطاعًا اقتصاديًا مهمًا مكرس لتحسين الرفاه الاجتماعي والاقتصادي في البلدان الأعضاء في البنك الإسلامي للتنمية والبلدان غير الأعضاء التي تضم مجتمعات مسلمة أو سكان مسلمين.

ولا تقتصر الأوقاف على قائمة محدّدة من المستفيدين، بل تشمل أساسًا برامج لتخفيف وطأة الفقر والإغاثة من الكوارث وخدمات صحية مجانية ونشر للتعليم الديني والعصري والتراث والثقافة والبيئة. وبالتالي، يمكن للفكرة التي تقوم عليها الأوقاف أن تنطوي على أهمية بالغة للأوساط الإنمائية في مجملها، بالإضافة إلى كونها هيكلية ذات أهمية دينية.

وقد أدت الأوقاف دوراً رئيسياً عبر التاريخ لتوفير تمويل مستدام للعديد من الخدمات الاجتماعية، بما في ذلك التعليم والصحة على سبيل المثال لا الحصر. وتشير التقديرات إلى أن أكثر من 60 في المائة من الخدمات العامة أثناء الخلافتين الأموية والعباسية كانت تُنفّذ عن طريق هيكلية الوقف. فكانت الأوقاف تموّلُ أولاً الخدمات الاجتماعية الأساسية (والبنية التحتية) المتعلقة بالتعليم والصحة، بالإضافة إلى دعم المحتاجين بسبل للعيش أو الضمان الاجتماعي. كما أدت الأوقاف، إلى جانب تلبيتها هذه الاحتياجات الأساسية، دوراً مهماً في تطوير الحياة الثقافية والعلمية بفضل تمويلها لإنتاج الكتب وبناء المكتبات ودعمها للعلماء في مختلف العلوم الدينية والدنيوية.

 تفعيل دعم الأوقاف في البنك الإسلامي للتنمية

يعكس صندوق تثمير ممتلكات الأوقاف سعي البنك الإسلامي للتنمية إلى تفعيل دعمه لقطاع الأوقاف. فصندوق تثمير ممتلكات الأوقاف يقدّم الأوقاف كأداة تنمية قائمة على التمويل الاجتماعي، مع مراعاة مبادئ الفقه ذات الصلة. ويعدّ صندوق تثمير ممتلكات الأوقاف صندوقا فريدا من نوعه على ساحة بنوك التنمية متعددة الأطراف، وذلك من خلال المـَهمّة المنوطة به والمتمثلة في تمويل إنشاء و/أو تطوير عقارات وقفية إسلامية، كما أنه يركّز بشكل كبير على الاستدامة المالية طويلة الأجل بين الأجيال.

ويعمل صندوق تثمير ممتلكات الأوقاف عن طريق تمويل بناء أو شراء أصول عقارية مادية (بالاعتماد على صيغ تمويل متوافقة مع الشريعة الإسلامية) من شأنها أن تحقق عائدًا. وتُستخدم هذه العوائد بعد ذلك لسداد المبالغ المستحقة لصالح الصندوق، فيما تُستخدم المبالغ المتبقية لدعم أنشطة المستفيد أثناء فترة السداد. وبعد هذه الفترة، يُسجّل الأصل باعتباره وقفًا ويعود كل الدخل الناتج إلى المستفيد، مما يساعد على توفير مصدر دخل مستدام لأنشطة المستفيد المرغوبة اجتماعيًا.

وقد نجح صندوق تثمير ممتلكات الأوقاف بصفته آلية لتفعيل الأوقاف وتحقيق أثرها الإنمائي في إثبات نجاعة هذا المفهوم الذي بات جاهزا للتطبيق على نطاق أوسع. ويبلغ إجمالي رأس المال المدفوع لصندوق تثمير ممتلكات الأوقاف 79.92 مليون دولار أمريكي مُكمّلاً بخط تمويل بقيمة 100 مليون دولار أمريكي من البنك الإسلامي للتنمية، كما تشتمل محفظة مشاريع الصندوق على 55 مشروعًا في 29 بلدا عضوا أو غير عضو في البنك الإسلامي للتنمية بقيمة إجمالية تبلغ 1.1 مليار دولار أمريكي. وقد أثبتت هذه المشاريع أنه يمكن للأوقاف بشكل عام ولنموذج صندوق تثمير ممتلكات الأوقاف بشكل خاص الاضطلاع بدور إنمائي مهم للغاية. ورغم أنّ التوثيق العلمي للأثر الناتج عن ذلك يقع خارج نطاق هذا المنشور، خاصة لما يتسم به من نظرة على مراحل سابقة، فإنه يعطي فكرة عن المجالات المواضيعية للأثر المحقق، فضلا عن إثبات أثر محدد في بعض الحالات.

Awqaf

Background on Awqaf

Awqaf (also spelled awkaf, singular waqf/wakf) is an Arabic word meaning assets that are donated, bequeathed, or purchased for being held in perpetual trust for general or specific charitable causes that are socially beneficial. In many ways, the concept of waqf is similar to the Western concept of endowment. The strong emphasis placed on the perpetuity of awqaf has led, over the years, to a considerable accumulation of societal wealth, such that awqaf has become an important economic sector dedicated to the improvement of the socio-economic welfare in Member and Non-Member Countries of IsDB with Muslim communities/populations. 

Some of the causes supported through awqaf include poverty alleviation programs, disaster relief, free health services, religious and contemporary education, heritage, culture, and environment. Thus, in addition to being a religiously significant institution, the idea underlying awqaf can be of significance to the larger development community. 

Indeed, historically, awqaf have played a major role in providing sustainable finance for many social services, including but not limited to education and health. In fact, it has been estimated that during the Umayyad and Abbasid Caliphates, more than 60 percent of public services were carried out via the institution of waqf. First, awqaf financed the basic social services (and infrastructure) of education and health as well as sustenance or social security for the needy. Second, beyond these basic needs, awqaf played an important role in the development of cultural and scientific life as they financed the production of books, the construction of libraries, as well as supporting scholars of various religious and secular sciences.

Operationalization of Awqaf Support within IsDB

APIF represents IsDB’s attempt to operationalize its support to the awqaf Sector. In fact, APIF promotes awqaf as a social-finance-based instrument of development while observing relevant principles of jurisprudence. With its mandate to finance the establishment and/or development of Islamic real estate endowments, APIF is a unique fund among MDBs with a strong focus on long-term, intergenerational financial sustainability.

APIF operates by financing (via Sharia-compliant modes of financing) the construction or purchase of physical real estate assets that would generate a return. These returns will then be used to make repayments to the fund, with residual amounts used to support the activities of the beneficiary during the repayment period. After this period, the asset is registered as a waqf and all income generated accrues to the beneficiary, helping to provide a sustainable source of income for the beneficiary’s socially desirable activities.

As a mechanism for operationalizing Awqaf to achieve their development impact, APIF has succeeded in providing a proof of concept, which is now ready to be scaled-up. Indeed, with a total paid-up capital of US$ 83.38 million supplemented by a line of financing from IsDB of US$100 million, APIF’s portfolio includes 54 projects in 29 Member Countries (MCs) and Non-Member Countries (NMCs) of IsDB worth a total of US$ 1.18 Billion. These projects have proven that awqaf in general and the APIF model in particular can play a very significant development role.